how to be a good programmer.

Hi,
Currently I am a newbie and I want to be a good programmer. Could you please tell me what should I do, to be a good programmer. Though I know C/C++ but never used it for solving programming puzzle.
If you can tell me some books or some study material will be a great help.

1 Like

Hi Kuwarbi

you can read
Art of Programming Contest

That mentioned book is nothing but a waste!
Too much typo errors, too much misleading concepts. Better go for a standard book, and practice here. That would be enough!

@bugkiller,

That book is actually okay… There is no such thing as misleading concepts… There can be some concepts more useful for programming contests than others, but, it’s very different from a concept being misleading… In fact, if there’s anything wrong with that book is being too complete and too detailed for a beginner, BUT, that book is really good.

@kuwarbi,

Books are still the best way to learn any new subject you’re keen on. However, on the case of programming, books are good to teach you:

• The syntax/details of a programming language (what I like to refer to as a necessary evil, since ideally, algorithms are language independent);

• To learn standard algorithms about the vast majority of topics covered in contests, like, algorithms on specific data structures, sorting, searching, geometry and alike topics;