Need easy to understand tutorials on some mathematical concepts used in competitive programming

Hi friends. My name is Abhinav, I’m currently a 9th grade student at Bal Vidya Mandir Highschool. The maths that we had till now was relatively very simple/easy and I couldn’t figure out what type of maths is being used in competitive programming. So far I know some basic algorithmic concepts like DP, segment trees, etc. I am facing problem when we need to have knowledge of some mathematical concepts (like FFT, convex hull, etc). The geometry we have in school is only based on minor concepts like circle, polygons, etc and contains some basic theorems related to them. I see there are many problems related to such mathematical concepts coming up in contests. The only option I am left with is to google those concepts and try searching for the basics but most of the times I end up with only the definition in my hand and not its very explanation. For example, few days ago I was finding some problem to solve and I found out that many had the tag “FFT” to it. I searched it and I looked at many sites for what it is for and its explanation, the only thing I found was it is used to calculate the multiplication of polynomials. It was very hard understanding the working of the algorithm (I even looked up the CLRS book explanation but it was very descriptive and I simply couldn’t understand it). Similar happened with convex hull when I searched it on web.

I request if there are some good tutorials available through which I can understand these concepts very well and they are simple to understand, please mention them. Also, please mention which mathematical concepts I would mainly require for such contests.

@chemthan always have something “mathematical” in his problems. If he answers this, it would be very helpful.

P.S. Please ignore grammatical or spelling mistakes, I’m not that good with English.

7 Likes