CHEFSUBA help!

Hello. I am new to codechef, and I am not able to solve the question CHEFSUBA. I followed the editorial, learned about segment trees, and implemented the solution. I am getting wrong answer. Can anyone please tell me where I went wrong? I have commented the code so it is easier to understand.

https://www.codechef.com/viewsolution/14397067

if(idx_last < first || idx_first > last)
{
return -1;
}

Can you explain returning -1 here? I thought you wanted to return 0 here :confused:

BTW, your code fails on this type of test case-

Input
5 3 5
1 0 0 1 1
?!?!?
Your Output
Expected Output

This error is mostly caused by incorrect rotation of array. Perhaps you are rotating it in opposite direction of what is given in question.

1 Like

I have updated the code to make the -1 to be 0. Essentially it would only appear in a max function, so it wouldnt matter if it is 0 or -1 as we are dealing with only nonzero numbers here.

My new code is still giving WA. I fixed the frame calculation logic, with sum[i] now denoting number of 1s in a frame of size k starting from i

https://www.codechef.com/viewsolution/14398977

It works on the two test cases, one in the question and the on you gave me.

One of the type of test cases failing are-

Input
5 9 7
1 0 0 1 1
?!?!?!?
Your Output
Correct Output

Also, can you have a re-look at the limits? Since effectively, size of sum array (upto which we are storing things/upto which its useful) is (n-k+1). But you are still building tree upto entire sum array. I think this is one of the things leading to SIGSEV error in one of the larger test cases. Have a look at your corrections.

for(int i=1;i<arr1.size()-k;i++)//Effectively only elements before arr1.size-k index are useful

build_tree(segvec, sum, 0, sum.size()-1, 0);//using whole of sum to query?
 cout<<maximal(segvec, beg_index, beg_index+n-1, 0, sum.size()-1, 0)<<endl;