Thoughts about ICPC 2017 Online Round

1. I think taking into account precision related issues is a skill needed to solve many real life problems too and does apply in competitive programming as well. Those who say it gives correct output on their local machine, its not the organizer’s fault! On codechef ide, arrays are initialized to garbage values but in local machines it gets initialized to 0 and thus produces different output a lot of time (This happens for codeforces too) and this isn’t a sufficient enough a reason for a recontest. Also, I cannot be accused for supporting “no recontest” for selfish reasons because I am a school student, I am just giving my personal opinion. Even then a google form was created for those people who were affected to take into account their “unfair” disadvantage. For those who ere affected by internal errors, that seems truly disadvantageous to me but a recontest is too much to ask for.

2. So, people really think teams won’t cheat if there were a recontest?

3. No idea, I think they will be public in a while.

8 Likes

Well, here’s my take on these points.

1.Yes, no reason why a contest should not test math.However, I have a different opinion on the kind of questions.As to codeforces #444, I felt that the questions were more of the “brute force” kind.A good question, according to me, should have one central observation, which when thought out, the rest shouldn’t be difficult.Of course, one or two brute force problems can be excepted.

I couldn’t see any such question in #444.In yesterday’s online round, I felt that the questions were not exactly demanding elegant observations(first three) but still, this is just my take, and of course questions can be set this way.