What is wrong with my code for calculating factorials?

Here’s the code :

#include <stdio.h>
int main (void)
{
    int x, y, z;
    z = 1;
    scanf ("%i", &x);
    for (x; x > 0; --x)
    {
 	    scanf ("%i", &y);
	    for (y = 1; y; ++y)
	    {
	 	    z = z * y;
	    }	
	    printf ("%i\n", &z);
    }	

return 0;
}		

Please don’t give me the solution. I am new to programming and I haven’t learn’t anything except loops and if else statements.

@gautam94: I think you want to find the factorial for the given x numbers.

1. in y loop for(;y>1;y–) z=z*y;

2. z=1 each time in the x loop

3. print just ‘z’ , & is used to get the address of an operator.

welcome to programming :slight_smile:

1 Like

@gautam94: Correction in the above code whose ideone link you have posted:

Well, you’re almost there. You don’t have to use “&” operator while printing. The “weird” output is basically printing the address reference of that particular variable.
In short, use:

<pre>  printf ("%i\n", z); 

If you use:

<pre>  printf ("%i\n", &z); 

then it will print the address of z. and yeah your code produces correct output after this midification :slight_smile:

2 Likes

TtLpi6 - Online C Compiler & Debugging Tool - Ideone.com Weird output.

This was the output when I ran it on my PC(GCC 4.6.2)

@sunny_patel: Why you want to close the question?

http://discuss.codechef.com/questions/10920/why-are-some-questions-closed

2 Likes

@betlista i just realized you commented after i deleted mine. Sorry about that.
Well, i saw the link. Sorry sir, i in no way meant that question is bad. But i thought-that while scrolling the discuss homepage say someone feels like answering some question. If it is closed he knows that the question is answered or invalid, & for a person who himself is looking for answers then he will also know which question to see(as there are multiple searches for a single keyword).