Some Problems in the state of Codechef

Hello again @randomusername,

I was in a bit of a hurry when I wrote that answer and I couldn’t wrap it up properly. Fortunately, you brought it up again with the line: “(…)It’s a tough job and you pointed out some valid difficulties a team faces when creating a contest. Let’s leave that as it is for now(…)”

Maybe we shouldn’t leave that as it is and clear up some points.

First of all, most problem setters aren’t professionals, instead, they are simple ordinary people like you and me (I am studying CS, pursuing a Bachelor’s degree and I am currently on the 2nd year of a 3-year timespan), which have their own lives and their own affairs besides CC.

With this being said, I wouldn’t be surprised if you were a better programmer than I am (you probably are, because, as I’ve mentioned on earlier answers, this is the end of my first more serious year and a half learning with Codechef, and there are yet many, many topics I don’t know about, so, we are all here to learn, all the time, especially because 1 year and a half is nothing!! :smiley: ), so, I guess writing problems/editorials has to be something one is really interested in, in order to do a good job.

However, as I said above, sometimes our own personal affairs, university, exams, etc, tend to be very overhelming and CC might fall back at times. It is something that ideally shouldn’t happen, but, the fact is, it does happen. That might be one of the reasons why some setters’ only check their e-mails when there are only 2/3 days left for the contest to start, which, obviously will reflect on the quality of the test cases and problem statement and puts additional pressure on the editorialist/testers’.