Is answering like this allowed ? Possible copying ?

April challenge 2014 marked the beginning of my Competitive programming journey.

Since I am new to this - it took me quite a bit of time to figure out the CNPIIM code but finally when I did - my soln took just over 1 sec to run. I was really amused to see people running it in 0.0 secs.
Now that the solns were made public - I see that they simply stored all the 2500 answers in an array.

Is this allowed ?

If yes then whats the point of time limit for questions with low test cases as anyone can have a program with a bad algorithm that gives desired output in an hour or so - all he needs to do is store them in an array after a pre run on his system.

Not to take any credibility out of those solutions but few of them are exactly identical as well. I also find it hard to believe so many people actually took the time to store those 2500 values in the array. Some guys don’t even know that 1250x1250 is max multiplication value and not the index as they have sized the array to 1250x1250.
Though most of them would have run their program to get those values - some of this still looks dubious to me as few solns are exact clones and even if they did run their original programs and stored answers then whats the point of time limit.

On a side note - When will the contest ratings be released ?

8 Likes

There is a cap on maximum size of code. So in most of the cases, luckily it is not possible to store all possible answers.

About your concern, everybody on this website has a different purpose. Some want to learn and some want to stay on top of chart for 1 particular question through loop-holes. I believe it should be ok to hardcode your answer (more admins can tell), but you should leave your paperwork or code snippet as comments that generated the array.

And don’t worry it seems they didn’t cheat and generated their arrays separately.

1 Like