Use of modulo 1000000007 in Competitions

I’m new to competitive programming and I have come across the request for the “answer modulo 1000007” on many occasions. Could someone provide me the link for any resource or just explain how I’m supposed to handle the computation of large numbers by using this method?

I program in C++, so any help with respect to the usage with the long long type would be appreciated.

3 Likes

Hello Vikram ,
I program in Java so can’t give you C++ specific tips , I am a bit out of touch with C++ . But I can help you with regards to basics of computation of answers modulo a large ( possibly prime ) number say P .

When say you have to multiply several numbers in sequence and have the result modulo P , take each number modulo P , and after each multiplication take the result modulo P before further multiplication
Similarly while adding a sequence of numbers take modulo after each addition or frequently enough .
NOTE 1 : For this to hold , P need not be prime .
NOTE 2 : Since P is always given to fit in 32 bit number , you will never have a number which does not fit in 64 bit .

There is some difficulty that arises when division comes in like in computation of factorials .
There is concept of multiplicative inverse that you should know in this case . Its useful quite a many times . It would be too much to write it over here . So I am giving you a link . Read it there .

NOTE 1 : Here P needs to be prime.
NOTE 2 : To use the concept of multiplicative inverse effectively you need to know how to take fast exponentiation . i.e. compute x ^ p in log ( p ) steps . Let me know if you need help in this .

22 Likes

Yes you are correct regarding computing ABC . So if you have N 64-bit numbers which you have to multiply , then you have to do N modulo operations initially and N-1 modulo operations after each of the N-1 multiplications .

Regarding Fast Exponentiation : Suppose you need to calculate x ^ 56 .