Depth first search code in C++

Anyone please help me by giving any link for coding DFS. I can’t understand the implimant of DFS.
Also please give some nice notes for DFS (as I’m a novice)
:slight_smile:

This article has a section on DFS which could help http://acm.uva.es/problemset/Art_of_Programming_Contest_SE_for_uva.pdf

If that does not work, here’s TopCoder’s tutorial on graphs which includes DFS

Depth-first Search is an easy algorithm to code up when you get the hang of it (as long as you know recursion).

To show you how DFS works, I’ll be using a binary tree. However, DFS can work with any tree.

In DFS, the computer is traversing a tree and uses a stack. It starts at the root node (the uppermost node), pushes that node into the stack, and then goes down to the left child of the parent node. It continues this process until it gets to the bottom of the tree, and at that point, the computer then pops off of the stack (in other words, goes back up the tree) until it gets back to a node with a right child. If it gets to a node with a right child, it repeats the process of pushing the node into the stack and going down starting with this node and going to the right.

It’s easy to understand DFS if you look at it pictorially. The first link I gave has a picture of a tree undergoing the DFS algorithm. Look at that to get a theoretical understanding of it before looking further in this post for the implementation.

Ah, I see you have gained your theoretical knowledge of DFS, no?
Now let’s look at the implementation of it.

Again, I will be using a binary tree for simplicity. However, you can use any tree.
Additionally, here’s the code in Java, although it is simple enough to translate into C++

The root node of a DFS would be the initial call of the DFS algorithm. This is likely to be in your main input stream.

public static void main( String[] args ) {
    dfs(); // Starting DFS at root node.
}

Now in the DFS algorithm, you have two options: