Taking input Python

Hello, I am a rookie programmer and only recently started using CodeChef. I was testing out the CodeChef ide and realised that I got an error everytime i tried to take input on the Python ide. The error triggered for both the input() and raw_input() functions.If someone could suggest a fix or an alternative method of taking input, I’d appreciate it.
My code:

x = input()

Error:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “./prog.py”, line 2, in
EOFError: EOF when reading a line

16 Likes

try to provide some input in custom input and then run

13 Likes

Yeah you had not given any custom data.

3 Likes

EOF error results usually in an online judge like CodeChef when an input is given by the system but the input reading line is not at the right place to read it.
Read the sample input syntax again and try.

3 Likes

Its happen because when the compiler compile the code it get EOF at end and nothing else to do.
Try using try-except method for this

while True:
    try:
        a = input()
    except EOFError:
        print ("EOFError")
        break

and you can provide some custom input also.

5 Likes

Give the input by your own in custom input

when i give the data in custom input , it execute the code without any error and give the right result , but on submitting the same code it gives the same error(runtime error
NZEC)

22 Likes

Try this trick:
try:
//-----Your Code-----
//----Your Code-----
//—Your Code-------
except:
pass

47 Likes

did you get any solution? i have similar problem

7 Likes

Same here. The code is working fine with custom input. But submission fails. @imsankeerth: How did you take input in CHFM problem?

6 Likes

If u write a recursive solution with depth greater than 1000, then it can also cause nzec.

1 Like

I just started codechef and I’m too getting that EOF error each time when the code is allowed to get compiled with system’s input.
For some programs i could find solution when custom input is provided.