C++ Debugging Tricks !!!

So, I am having problems debugging my code in C++. It takes about like 1/2 hour to debug and then I realize how silly the mistake was. I am new to C++ so please help.

1 Like

Try and have a look at GDB; though it is a bit awkward for beginners but is good to use and saves time. If you are not comfortable with this nothing to worry, practice more problems and you will get good with time.
You may refer to these links from cs50 courses for GDB.

EDIT: Also try breaking program into functions/using inbuilt functions.It helps in generating shorter understandable code which makes debugging a lot easier. Whenever I am stuck, I decompose the program into functions. It generally helps.

1 Like

@mathecodician These are some things that you can do, first note down your frequent mistakes and find out the reason, you tend to make them and next time while debugging see through the list, and check whether you have done same mistakes or not.
Start writing short comments in your code, this will reduce your effort significantly while debugging. Always try to code simple so that you can reduce your implementation mistakes.

The main thing is practice, as you expose yourself to more and more problems, you’ll learn all the little tricks that they can throw at you, which will definitely improve your ability to write clean, foolproof code.

1 Like

Hmm @mathecodician I suggest using this for logic error detection, but you have to take care of syntax and infinite loops yourself. Use this macro that I use regularly, if you suspect some variable causing havoc.

#define DEBUG(x) std::cerr << #x << ": " << x << '\n';

Moreover, sometimes GDB tricks are also useful so you could try that also, if you please.

I might also add some more information if you found this useful.

You may also think of using something like

#define DEBUG(x) std::cerr << "In " << __FILE__ << " at line " << __LINE__ << #x << ' = ' << x << std::endl;