Please share , Your Logic for solving INTERVAL feb17

What was the logic in this question . I could solve it only for m=2 . Please explain the logic in simple way , I am a mere beginner.

2 Likes

Logic was simply to find interval which can maximize final score. Now that you scored for m=2, most probably you used recursion which blows up the time due to repeated computation.

Thus we can use something called Dynamic programming to solve this problem efficiently.

I would like to know if you are familiar with DP or not so that I can craft my answer accordingly so that you can understand and be able to solve these types of questions in future

1 Like

If you;re a mere beginner, i would suggest you to not to worry much.

DP or Dynamic Programming isn’t a cakewalk thing. First make sure you’re quite familiar with things like loops, if-else, input-output etc. That’s a basic.

After that, slowly advance yourself. Problems on hackerrank.com in algorithm sectiona re sorted by category, and are good practice (you can get test cases by using their currency - “hackos” , it is earned by solving questions and logging in daily) .

To learn advance things, you also need theory, so I suggest geekforgeeks for this. MAKE SURE TO WATCH THEIR VIDEO LECTURES!! After reading the stuff, the video explanation makes things crystal clear.

And remember one thing- It doesn’t matter what pace you set for yourself, make sure you ENJOY every bit of it, because coding is something which I find very beautiful, interesting and elegant.

Once you reach the basics of dp, give a try to this Q, and if the doubt persists, we are here. Hope this helps you progress further dear! :slight_smile:

1 Like

@ayush_7

Please tell me what do you mean by how finals core is maximised or minimised? Do you mean you are not able to predict the moves or did you not understand the logic in which they both move?

I will try to be as elaborate as possible.