Codeforces vs Codechef: Which one is better and why?

Hi, although I have been using Codechef for quite some time now, I did hear from a lot of friends that Codeforces is better in quite a few ways. This includes, quicker response from discussion forums, more number of competitions, editorials being better and being on time, etc…

I am not a complete beginner but I still consider myself some 3 rating type of person on codechef. Which one would be better for me amongst the two? Codechef or Codeforces?

9 Likes

You are asking this question at codechef so of course codechef is better. It’s because codechef is an Indian website and mostly target to Indians towards Competitive programming by organising one of the largest Competition of world i.e., ACM_ICPC, Snackdown etc.

Here the beauty of discussion session is much more better than codeforeces. As it gives you coins for the contribution at discussion session.

It’s more interactive and responsive than any other websites like codeforces. You will definitely get reply of every question whether it belongs to admin or other community members.

At last it organise the long contest that last for 10 days which you will not get at codeforces.

Codechef is awesome and fabulous in my point of view. You will also accept it if you spend time apart from codeforces.

21 Likes

This types of questions has been asked many times before, so instead of asking this in codechef, you should have done some googling…!

19 Likes

In my point of view, I think as per contests, codeforces is better, they have a lot more contests. Good blogs from top coders like Gennady, Petr, Egor, rng58. Along with that codeforces have a bigger audience., Most of the top programmers frequently code on codeforces like Gennady, Petr, Egor, rng58. As far as I can see on codechef Gennady, Petr participated only 1-2 contests in a year on codechef.

A competition is as good as it’s competitors, clearly, codeforces have more from top-tier programmers.