Can anyone help in Vectors?

I have heard that using vectors in programming contests would be very helpful.
I searched in Internet but i did not get the proper basics.Can anyone please give me a c++ programme to find the mean of 10 numbers using vector?(in the most simple manner :))I mean to just to get the basics of vectors?
Please help me out.I looked in cplusplus.com.Can anyone help me out?I am just a beginner. :frowning:
Thanks

7 Likes

I hope this may be of some help…:slight_smile:

4 Likes

@kunnal361:is it necessary to create the vector as global??
Wonderful explanation
Please support young programmers like me.I am just a beginner…:slight_smile:
Thanks buddy

6 Likes

no need to make it global…no problem at all dude…also if you would like to see a fully functional code using an array of vectors you can see this solution…CodeChef: Practical coding for everyone
it is my submission of a problem in the long contest…it is used for the adjacency list…!!!
pls do feel free to ask nething that u may not understand in the code…:slight_smile:

@kunal361:link text there i have done made my doubts as comments.If possible please guide me dude…:slight_smile:

4 Likes

You have mentioned C++, then why only vectors, why not more containers that C++ support?

The best way to learn about a feature of a language is by writing code in your own way trying different things.

Containers in C++ are classified as two types:

Sequence Containers and Associative Containers

Arrays, vectors, lists etc fall in the former category whereas sets, maps etc fall in the latter one.

Both the categories have their own flavor when it comes to programming.