Beginner Coder

Hello everybody,

The ambition to learn how to code has been on my mind now since I graduated high school back in 2017. Well here I am now 2021 at 22 years old, and I still haven’t made the dedicative decision to immerse myself into the world of coding… until now.
I find that coding can be fascinating. Especially in an ever evolving world where coding is becoming more prevalent and necessary in todays society.

I have 1 issue.

Not to make this into sad story, but I became lazy after I graduated high school. I found myself not chasing my goals that I originally had set out for myself. I became too comfortable with working jobs that provided enough to get me by. My resentment towards this live I’ve been living has been growing more and more in the last 6 months to the point where I’m wanting to make a serious change and expand my abilities to a place that I once wanted for myself. The only issue is… during my time away from school I have found that I have became very dull minded in certain ways.

Ive been doing some research and from what I believe, it is important to have a stable understanding in advanced maths. Which I used to be very knowledgable at but I now lack. Math has become some sort of a grey area in my mind.

The point of my question is, to excel in programming/coding is it necessary to know the advanced maths? Such as complex formulas and equations? If so, what would everybody recommend in helping myself learn these things so that I don’t struggle so much when it comes to my journey with coding?
I have been on the fence about getting back into some basic schooling to help advance my knowledge, but I know success doesn’t always require a degree so Ive procrastinated making that decision for quite some time. But if that is the most recommended option then I’m willing to make that jump for myself.

Any words of wisdom or criticism is much appreciated and I thank you in advance for the help.

Hello!