C or Cpp which is better?

i have this doubt from when i started solving codechef problems.Now i am programming in C language only. Is learning complete C language is more adequate to become a good_programmer/master in codechef contests.I have learnt C and java(moderate) languages.I have been coding for 4 months in codechef.but i have observed that many programmers in this site solving problems in C++ language only…
So i have these questions…

is there any much more advantage of C++ over C in solving problems?

Do i need to learn C++ or is learning C language is sufficient to compete in programming contests?

Can we solve every problem in C language?

How to prepare for google code_jam,ACM-ICPC contests?

suggest me some good books for C++,DS,Algorithms…

Yes, for solving problems, C++ is definitely better.

C is sufficient for solving problems. But you will have to re-write things which are already present in C++ STL. For example a sort function.

Yes, you can solve every problem in C. You can solve every problem in assembly too. But will you solve these problems using assembly language?
Also, C++ is backwards compatible. (Almost) all C programs are C++ programs. So you lose nothing.

My advice is, learn C++. You will be able to save a lot of time in contests because so many useful functions and classes exist in STL.

9 Likes

There is not a lot of difference between c and c++ so transitioning is not too difficult. The main advantage of using cpp is the STL library. See this article (link) to see some of the features of stl which makes your life a lot easier and saves time particularly in short time based contests.

For learning DS/Algorithms, follow the CLRS textbook (link) and try to practice as many questions as you can on sites like codechef,topcoder,spoj,codeforces etc…

Also read the following tutorials on topcoder (link) and practice problems specifically on the topics you have read to understand how to apply them.

Good luck!

3 Likes