Can Anyone help me with this problem(Code in Java)

You can just traverse the array and solve this problem by converting words to equation.

Base Case:
Time t=0
first person has patience A_1 (using 1 based indexing to explain).
As t<A1, person 1 is served. Due to this serving, the total time spent till now is advanced by B_{1}.
t = t + B_i

Step Case
We are at time t, the last person served is A_{j}. the next person k=j+1 is waiting in line if B_k-t>=0. If that is the case, we serve this person. Otherwise we increment k by 1 and repeat the condition check in a while loop. Once we find the first next person that can be served, we serve him/her and increment time again.

Time Complexity
O(N)

1 Like

Sir, I am new to competitive coding can you please make it a little easier.

Guys, I am a complete newbie here. Not getting a thing.
If you feel so please take get some time to answer my questions :pray: :pray:

To start with , right now I only know about HTML and CSS that I use for WebDev. for Codechef however I have realised that I need to learn C / C++ / Python.

• What should be the correct sequence to learn the things (programming languages, DS-Algo etc) in order to be able solve the problems here & get rated good in future ?
  • Does solving practice problems & getting them wrong display a bad picture of my profile ?
  • Does solving the rated questions incorrectly deduct points ?
  • How much & what should I practice till I become capable to enter rated contests ?

Whatever language you suggest me, please also tell majority of the topics that I need to cover to be confident to solve questions.
YES , I am a newbie here & you guys might make fun of me for that but I don’t want to be one forever. Also whatever I learn I want to learn it completely & perfectly with no doubts in head. Neither do i want to cheat. So in the end,

• Please suggest me Proper sources to learn whatever you have suggested. whether it is books, Youtube Videos or Website.