Codechef Long Challenges

Hello Codechef Community! I want to ask how one can prepare for Codechef Long Challenges. Since they are 10 days long, we have a proper platform and sufficient time to study about the topic ( if required ), work diligently and submit our codes correctly. Also, patience, perseverance and self-belief are important key factors during the contest.
What other technical knowledge, algorithms, tips or tools do you suggest?
How one can increase their problem submission count?
It would be very useful to share your experience. Thank you in advance!

2 Likes

You don’t prepare for long challenges. Long challenges prepares you. :stuck_out_tongue:

Anyways this is a good place to start : Learn Data Structures and Algorithms | DSA tutorials | CodeChef

14 Likes

As a beginner I feel that long challenges are the best opportunities for us to work on transforming into pro coders.
I’ve joined codechef approx 2 months ago, and participated in 2 long challenges. I try my best to solve as many problems I do 5 problems completely and 6th one partially. Everytime the long challenge covers different aspects of competitive programming.
Now I don’t remember all of the problems but I remember GUESSPRM in July challenge from math section, ENCODING from digit-dp, a zombies problem related to a standard DP problem of “overlapping intervals”, and so on.
The problem types don’t repeat a lot, thus every problem is an opportunity to learn something new.

I personally think that knowing what type of problem isn’t that hard. So I look at the problem, i quickly identify the type, but I don’t know exact implementation. Then I look it up on the internet, codeforces blogs or geeksforgeeks I pretty helpful.