Division of problems by difficulty level

When the editorials are published there are 5 kind of divisions for difficulty level :

1. Cakewalk

2. Simple

3. Easy

4. Medium

5. Hard

However , when the problems move to practice section the first three categories are combined in EASY .
I dont like this . I have been a computer science teacher in past and still some people come to me for guidance . Its difficult for me to guide them to code chef because there is a wide range of problems in EASY section . Some are cakewalk which is where i want them to start . But some are in fact quite difficult and EASY only for someone who has completed his computer science education not for someone who has just begun his computer science section .

Now with School section coming up there is a new category in practice section . I dont think it serves any good to have a separate “School” category in practice section . They should also be categorized into 1 to 5 difficulty level and marked as such .

9 Likes

well pointed, I also felt this problem, when I was boosting my friends to participate in codechef, though My branch is Computer Science, but all the problems after some level in Easy section become difficult for anyone new into competitive coding, for this purpose I have to ask them to solve Peer problems first but If there can be a division into these 5 basic level, it will be more better

1 Like

Unfortunately the distinction between Cakewalk/Simple and Simple/Easy is itself not easy (no pun intended). If the difficulty is not determined accurately people will again complain.

But I am in favor of division using feedback from users who got AC on the problem on a scale of 3. So for existing categories i.e Easy/Medium/Hard/Challenge/Peer/School, there can be further division on scale of 3.