Doubt Regarding Basics vs Algorithms.

I am currently doing my masters (MCA).

At the end of the curriculum the company Media.Net (you might be familiar) visits our campus for placement. Being placed at media net is my goal.

The process consists of 2 rounds

• Coding round (2 questions, 90 minutes, platform codechef)
  • Algorithm round (3 Algo Questions, 45 mins each, clear any two)

I know C++ and have selected it as my main language of coding. Will definitely learn more languages like Java, Python, Lisp, Erlang, Haskell.

So my questions is where do i start from?

What do I now?

Start by making my basics strong? (Basics as in topics and concepts eg. overloading,inheritance,file handling etc)

OR

Start by learning Algorithms and Data Structures(No idea about this and I am New to this)

Will also do the CCDSAP certification

I just want to know where to start from as many of you experienced people must’ve started from somewhere.

Thanks in Advance

@saiff_ansari I’ll make it simple for you.

• Make the language part strong. Don’t run for multiple languages. Choose any one and try to understand how everything works in that language. You should not face any problems in implementation in that language.
  • Then comes the part of DS and Algo. I was same confused as you are when I started. Even now I feel same sometimes. But the thing is there is nothing like a sequential process here. You can learn any DS and Algo just randomly by solving problems on various online judges.
  • For starters, I will say try and learn basic Data structures like Stack, queue, linked list, tree, Graph, hash tables, etc. You should be able to implement their basic operations without any problem. Try implementing by using Standard Template Library(STL) also (if you are choosing C++). Because in STL almost every operation is predefined in <algorithm.h> {But you should implement without STL too to clear your basics.}