Help, Confused with language choice

Hello,
I’m new to competitive programming and I’m proficient in Python. Currently, I’m learning by solving problems on the DSA learning series.

I was going through the resources and topics mentioned in the third section (STL) of the DSA learning series.

My question is does my language (Python) really matters when I try to learn these data structures such as Map, Set, etc. When I saw that the resources mentioned in the STL section are in C++ and the majority of the submissions are in C++ or JAVA, It confuses me and makes me think that am I practicing in the wrong direction?

If I follow the DSA learning series with Python is there any essence that I will be missing?

1 Like

Yes, those data structures are incredibly important and you should either switch to a better language for CP or use something like pyrival, which implements those things. Python doesn’t even have most of those data structures (like an ordered set)

2 Likes

Thank you for replying.

By your suggestion and after reading from other resources I’m planning to move to C++ but I’m not sure with my decision since I’m programming in python from a long period of time and I don’t know whether the Jump from python to C++ will eventually help me in improving my problem solving skills and understanding of data structures.

Finally, Is there anything that you would like to recommend from your side if I go for the path of learning C++, like any resources or path etc.

I don’t have resources, really. What I did to learn C++ (self-learned) was just hands-on learning. I gave myself a problem and told myself “solve this in C++”, then used google to help me with anything I didn’t know how to do. Websites like cplusplus.com and en.cppreference.com are good to look at.