Help in PERPALIN

Hi, so I’ve done the 3rd problem in November challenge just now. I’ve written the code in Java, and it showed me TLE for 2 test cases(Execution Time was shown as 2.1 seconds for both test cases), my friend suggested me to rewrite it in c++, so when I rewrote it in C++ and submitted, all test cases got accepted and the execution time was shown as 0 seconds!!!

I’m not that good at CP, I’m still learning, can someone explain me in detail why this happened ? I’ve been doing CP only in Java, but after seeing this issue, I feel like I’ve made a mistake starting competitive programming with java (or am I wrong in this perspective? ). Should I migrate to C++ ?

Link to the prob - CodeChef: Practical coding for everyone

I’ll update my java code once the november challenge ends, since the contest is still running and I shouldn’t post the solution yet.

Edit:- This is my code - CodeChef: Practical coding for everyone
Can someone please tell me what exactly is making my code go TLE in java?

Don’t use Scanner for input.It’s way too slow for large input.Try bufferedreader :slight_smile:

Sure, I’ll keep in mind to use BufferedReader from next time onwards mate. Any other suggestions are really appreciated :slight_smile:

The exact same problem was faced by me bro.

I tried many implementations using Java but none passed(also tried fast io using BufferedReader class and Reader class as well).

The same logic is giving AC in C/C++ in a single try. Not sure why this happened.

Mate, In competitive programming, there is large input output, so you need faster ways of reading input. I suggest you to used this fastReader way of taking input. Hope it helps getting u more ACs!!..

I was facing same problem. And the reason you’re getting TLE is because you’re using Strings and “+” for concatenation I was getting TLE solution using simple strings

When I used StringBuilder instead of normal String I got all AC

StringBuilder solution