HELP (TITLE MUST BE AT LEAST 10 CHARACTERS Don't mind)

Usually, when I can’t solve a problem, I either search it up on the net or understand the logic used in AC codes…Could you suggest a better way of how to learn concepts? I am new to programming and only know basics (lists, loops, if-else, I/O)…from where can i learn more advanced stuff like Trees, stacks, etc. Also what is dp(dynamic programming)?

3 Likes

Why is searching bad? An intuitive understanding is the best way to learn things, because it makes sense to you. By searching, you can piece together the details of some algorithm/data structure for yourself and truly understand it.

5 Likes

After solving a particular problem by searching (say, print sum of all nodes of a tree), i can understand the logic and implementation of that problem, but if i face a problem like, find the path from node x to node y such that the sum is maximum or something, i am unable to do it

1 Like

There is a difference between understanding a topic and recognizing when to apply it. The first is relatively easy: read up on the topic and implement it. The second is much harder and is one of the most important factors in determining how good a competitive programmer is.

The best method to develop this skill is solving a lot of problems. When you couldn’t solve a problem during a contest: read the solution and upsolve it. In short: practice practice practice.

3 Likes

@wicked_knight this happens with me too but I think all the new coders like us need to do practice a lot and checking AC codes doesn’t means that you’re cheating. It sometimes help to learn new concepts.

1 Like

thank you very much : )

1 Like