How can i perfect one rating level?

I’m new to codechef and i don’t know if this is the right category to post this thing so i’m sorry. I was solving practice problems in 500-1000 rating category i’m very comfortable upto around 700s after that i can solve few but i really couldn’t solve the rest how can i work upon only these kind of problems which i couldn’t solve and improve my problem solving abilities ? thanks in advance.

Hello!

Well, first you should practice some habits that might help you.

1. Pre-solve (most of) the problem before starting coding.

Have a notebook, a pencil, and maybe a calculator with you every time you code. After reading the problem, write in your notebook the possible numbers, string, matrix or whatever. Imagine you are simulating the process. Only after that, you might start coding.

1. Read the test cases and create your own

Test cases generally are giving you half of the answer. Analyzing the outputs of the year cases is super helpful. Moreover, creating your own test cases following the constraints is as helpful.

1. Read the Editorial, Submissions and commented codes after your attempts

Many problems in the practice part are heavily commented. In some are videos even!! Try reading and watching them. Those are meant to tell you the particular technique to solve that problem. In the beginning, it might seem that they are unrelated, but you’ll see after many problems and approachings are kinda similar: number theory, binary manipulation, statistics, etc.

1. Keep learning your language

Even if you solved a problem, give yourself a moment to wonder how could’ve been solved more efficiently. Maybe there was another data structure, a built in canonical function, or a common DSA you weren’t aware of. All that can be found in the submissions.

1 Like