How to be good at codechef

hello folks,
I am very new to CodeChef and codeforces. I am from a tier 3 college. there np one knows what to do in order to get a good placement. now after all my research, I came to know cp and dsalgo are most important. currently, I am in 3rd year. I am very worried about this. could you please give me some tips on how I can grow, how I should practice? I am a very beginner to competitive programming. I also want to grow at cf. Can you suggest some places from where can I get good questions like some ladder to start with or suggest some YouTube channel? And one more question when should I start giving contest?

Please help me with this.

1 Like

Yay start giving contests.You can try codeforces problem set ,sort them in descending order of submissions and solve them or you can try a20j ladder also.

1 Like

If your focus is just for placements start with Leetcode- top 100 liked problems. When you solve all of those start giving contests on Codechef and Codeforces.

i don’t know but i heard quality of a2oj ladder get decreaser and outdated.

no sir i want to be at cp. suggest some think. As i told i am from a tier 3 college ratings will help me a lot to get a good job so i want to prepare well then i want to start giving contest please suggest me something.

you rating graph is very impressive . suggest me something how can i get 4 5 * in 5 6 months.

If you want to really improve at coding,competitive programming,international competitions like ICPC,CodeJam,Hackercup,etc. then go for short contests on codechef,codeforces,atcoder and topcoder.

If you just want a good rating at codechef(and not really improve), then only give Long Challenges of Codechef. There is massive amount of cheating in Long Challenge and you can get solutions easily too, so rating increases easily.

Example of 5* coder on Codechef not able to solve div2-1st-question : CODECHEF LONG OCTOBER20B PLAGIARISM SPRINT HOUR - #98 by i_code78