How to prepare for GATE??

Hi friends, I am a B.Tech student. My ultimate passion is teaching.According to me teaching is most scared profession. I always love to share my knowledge, whatever I know. In order to become a Professor in any B.Tech college in India the minimum qualification is turning out to be a Post Graduate(M.Tech).
So I would like to do M.Tech in Computer Science and engineering.
I am just in the 2nd year now. Many people say that its easy to crack GATE(exam in INDIA),some says its not.
Is it easy?
How should we prepare for it?
As I have already told, I am only going to the second year. Not even a good programmer. I am just learning daily. Is it the proper time to prepare for GATE
Which is good?? To go for M.Tech or go for MS abroad??
Any opinions??

8 Likes

@bibinpreethy : I have taught GATE students in past . Prior to working at Directi , i was a coach in computer science . I did my B.Tech in Computer Science from IIT Delhi and then worked for Microsoft and a few other companies before working as a freelance coach . It was an awesome experience . A few takeaway’s for you :

1. Theory of Automata is the single most important topic in GATE syllabus .
  2. You need to study the syllabus of GATE examination properly , especially the year you appear but even now because change in syllabus year on year is not much . There are scholarships to be won on basis of GATE score , and you should not lose out because you neglected some topic in syllabus . For example , it will expect you to know C and C++ , if you program in Java or in some other language , one language may be enough for you in programming but for GATE examination look for specific languages in which they will ask you questions .
  3. Buy last 10 years (or more ) of past year GATE examination papers . Study the distribution of questions across topics . Give them as mock tests and see your score and try to improve .