How to understand/learn algorithms?

I’m very confused. I really don’t know where to start from.
People are saying “Learn Algorithms”, “Practice” and stuff. But, the problem is that I’m new to competitive programming and I don’t really understand what algorithms are. What will I practice, then?
Is there a faster way to learn? At least, just the basics. The problem is that I have very less time(just 4 days) for a contest(codechef based private contest).
Anyway, can you provide relevant information(or, a link to it)?

I don’t know if this is important or no: But, the language I want to code in is C++. I’m not basically a novice in it, in fact I know it sufficiently enough. Just the problem is I don’t know much about algorithms.

2 Likes

Unfortunately you can’t learn much about algorithms in just 4 days. The best thing you can do right now is learn about STL. It has many data structures and algorithms already implemented.

3 Likes

Competitive programming is like a sport. There is never a shortcut. There is nothing of the sorts where u have a wishlist of algorithms that u can master in merely 3-4 days. In so less time u can just practice random stuff or any specific weak area that you might have. Apart from that i’m sorry to say there is nothing much to help you out. It doesn’t matter even if you are an expert in C or C++. At the end of the day what matters is the logic that you come up with.

1 Like

if you want you can have a look here it’s brilliant for starting off.It will surely take time to get a grip of it but the rewards are breath-taking :slight_smile:

http://discuss.codechef.com/questions/48877/data-structures-and-algorithms

3 Likes

First of all don’t hurry in becoming good at it. It would be a big mistake. I made the same mistake two years ago, got frustrated and left it. Now i started all over again(bcoz i started missing it & can’t be without it), right from basics(DS: LL,Trees,Graph) & will slowly move to DP & Algos.