isn't the time limit too tight for non-C program ?

I’m a Java programmer. I have been practicing questions from the archived problems page (EASY) from top.

I feel that I got TLE for almost 30% of the questions, EVEN THOUGH I implemented a solution that has the same asymptotic bound as the suggested solutions (i.e. the editorial)

If you checked the successful submissions on the right, almost all of them are written in C/ C++, with usually less than 5 written in Java. for some questions, I guess solutions written in other languages (say Python) are basically impossible to pass the time limit, even if they are perfectly optimized.

I’m not new to this community, and I understand there is always disadvantages programming in non-C languages. This happens too for other coding platforms, say codeforces or topcoder. but I feel that this problem is much much more severe here.

1 Like

i normally code in python and have never faced much of a problem except in 1 or 2 problems.infact i sometimes feel time limit for python is too lenient. i do not know much about Java but i would suggest faster I/O makes a lot of difference in time. other optimizations depend on you

2 Likes

@hiukim : Just getting the time complexity right , does not ensure that you will not get TLE . You should also optimize the number of steps you do in each iteration .

I also program in Java and I have always managed to get rid of TLE by optimizing my code , like reducing a heavy operation like division or modulus in each iteration .

A code requiring 10 * N steps may not pass , while a code requiring 2 * N steps may pass .

This happens time and again and you have to resolve this by optimizing your code .

Let me give two examples (I can definitely give more)

both of these have no successful submission written other than C/C++ languages

and my solutions:
http://www.codechef.com/viewsolution/2321837
http://www.codechef.com/viewsolution/2338585