Java or c++?

Hi! I am completely new to programming. I want to participate in Programming Olympiads(ZIO/INOI/IOI) and competitive programming . I have been doing java for 10 - 12 days and tried c++ for a few days. I read that most people prefer c++ because it is faster and contains STL . However I am more comfortable with Java. Which language do you prefer(Why?)? Is it okay to do Java or MUST I switch to c++ ? I don’t want to study both as that will waste a lot of time and I have less time as the examination is near . Thank you.

C++ :heart:

Hope this clears your doubt:

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.geeksforgeeks.org/tips-and-tricks-for-competitive-programmers-set-2-which-language-should-be-used-for-competitive-programming/amp/&ved=2ahUKEwiQk8eX_tjrAhVFxjgGHd06D3YQFjANegQIAhAB&usg=AOvVaw0v8qudYNJPZZy3fwdS9Dd8&ampcf=1

hello @cod_e_nthu though c++ is a bit faster and has large stl support still that won’t be suffecient if you aren’t comfortable with it I personally would suggest you to continue with the language that comforts you… happy coding <3

This really helped me. Thank you.

OK thanks . :slight_smile:

Hey @cod_e_nthu … It depends on your end goal… what you want to achieve from this platforms.
If you want to take CP as a sport and want to achieve as high a rating as possible in Codechef or Codeforces or any other platform… go for C++.
With C , C++ you will have an advantage of speed over Java (or Python)

But when it comes to learning Data Structures… i do prefer Java. Lear Generics and Collections(It has almost everything u will need… that too without using pointers) . (Implementing OOP with Java is lobe).

Keep Python for Web , ML , AI stuff.

I code with Java. :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

2 Likes

that too without using pointers

What’s so bad about pointers, why does everyone hate them? :frowning: