Need help to understand trie implementation using maps - c++

Implementation Code

I’m new to cpp, please help me out with the queries below

1. In above code what Trie* is doing in maps and while creating an object? I have heard about pointers but ‘*’ thing comes before the variable name, Any cpp resources regarding this will be helpful.
  2. which implementation is better, maps or using char array

If there is any video where implementation of trie using cpp is done please share it with me.
Thanks.

1. what trie* is doing :- each char is mapped to pointer to struct. Here trie is not var name. You put data type name while creating maps. So Trie* is like data type of whatever(struct) is used as value in map
  2. which is better:- ideally array shld be faster than unordered_map but they both hav same theoretical time complexity
    what shld u use?
    ans is none
    i hav tried many implementations and believe me this one is too slow and will give tle for most probs
    I know one implementation. Will find it and tell you

Edit:- here it is. Its cheng2014’s code
refer it
https://www.codechef.com/viewsolution/13476683

2 Likes

Yes, pointer comes before the variable name and after the data type. ‘Trie’ here is a derived data type (structure) like int, char, float, etc.

I think you’re talking about this: "unordered_map<char, Trie*> map; "
Here Trie* is a pointer of type ‘Trie’, which means it can only store the addresses of Trie type data types.

I hope it is clear to you.

Why cant we write *Trie instead.

For int we write it as (int *)
for float (float *)
Similarly for Trie it is (Trie *)

what about this implementation of trie

see at line 16
I hate that new
its what slows everything
calling new or malloc for every insertion will do ur job but as i said may give tle for some probs
eg I tried a lot for this prob but could not do it

However this guy’s similar solution passed(with new op) with 0.73 sec
https://www.codechef.com/viewsolution/18725964