Need help with handling I/O operations in Python

First and foremost, I really appreciate the team behind this code challenge… This was my first coding based competition (on CodeChef) but I have been programming for almost 6 years now…

I understand that C/C++ is preferred in competitions but I decided to participate in this challenge with Python because this is the language that I use the most, both for personal as well as work projects (backend developer)…

While I didn’t face much difficulty in understanding the problems or even solving it, my submissions continuously ended up getting TLE violations…

My usual approach was to get all the test cases before proceeding to find the solution of each individual test case. Unfortunately, this approach didn’t work… After doing some profiling, I realized that (as I guessed) that my I/O (input() / print()) functions were the main culprit…

I wanted to test against the test file created by your testers but after some digging into your forums, I came to know that they don’t allow us access to them… Hence, I have a couple of questions that I would love to get answers on:

• How to effectively handle I/O based operations with Python?

• Does your test files have newline characters in them? Or, some idea behind the general format of test files?

• Do I need to create a test case generator for each problem? Any tips regarding one?

With regards,
suyashd95.

1 Like

u can check out this:

btw I am c++ user XD

First of all, thank you so much for your quick reply… I have already tried the methods mentioned in the article and it didn’t make much difference to my submission… Probably, I was implementing it in the wrong way…

I will give it another spin…

If you don’t mind, can you please tell me a bit about what time limit is applied for Python programs… After going through the forums, I observed there is a lot of confusion regarding it…