NEWBIE here!

I was practising from 2-3 months by ignoring constraints because i didnt knew much but i saw in coding ninjas that constraints are very helpful to decide a solution time complexity so my confusion is if the constraint lets say is n>10^8 so i should design algorithm of O(log n) that is binary search stuffs??please correct me if i am wrong and please tell that how to deal with constraint(i am a beginner so tell me in easy manner)…Also how to approach a problem??i often spend 5-6 hrs thinking of a problem and after the editorial comes the pre-requisites are sets,greedy etc which i havent studied yet…please help how to approach a problem!!please

I am a Newbie too , i never took any course i keep on solving problems , More WA i give more i learn :sweat_smile:, after solving good number of problems you will get familiar with Constraints and Approaches

For constraints,think 10^8 is around 1 sec so like that according to value you can calculate if it will stay in time limits or not.
And if you are not able to solve a problem for 30-40 minutes as a beginner then just leave it and move to the editorial.If you understand the editorial then start coding it but if a prerequisite is there , then try to learn it.
It’s not difficult,just keep practicing :slight_smile:
PS: There are some good video solutions,refer them also.

2 Likes

1 sec approx 10^7 or 10^8 operations, so O(N) passes.
If constraints are 10^18 then O(logN) passes.
If constraints are 10^5 or 10^6 then O(NlogN) passes, though it also depends on question like in some question they also give test cases till 10^3 or 10^4, so need to observe this also.
But generally the above holds true.

1 Like