Problem Quality is Amazing!

Hi! I’ve just recently migrated from CodeForces to CodeChef and I have to say that I was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of problems on here.

I’ve seen many people complain about the quality of problems (but those posts are from a few years ago) and I guess the times have changed. TBH when I started using CodeChef I’ve experienced myself finding problems interesting for the first time in a few months. Although I’m not that good of a competitor on CodeForces, I’m a mid expert there, so not too high nor too low to discuss A-E problems.

Yes, there are some issues such as cheating in Longs, but even though I’m still waiting for Long to end to upsolve, I must say this month’s contest has some very decent problems!

What’s I Don’t Like About CodeForces?

Too easy problems

To explain what I mean by boring problems - in CodeForces I’ve come to expect an extremely simple A which consists of printing either some math formula, checking whether a number is even or odd or just counting letters of a string. That’s ok, but takes me just about 20-30 seconds to think of a solution and another 20-30 seconds to code.

Following A is a trivial implementation problem, in which we should find unique elements/split array in different parts/count occurences or even just literally implement what the tasks says. This is dull and boring nature of CF A and B problems, but still I guess it’s not that big of a deal.

On the other hand you’d expect C to be an interesting problem, requiring some thinking. But no, you’re wrong. In most problems you’re just required to sort an array or do some prefix sums, perhaps I’m exaggarating but there were just 2-3 problems in the last 10 Div2 rounds I’ve found interesting and didn’t solve in 10-15 minutes.

Pointless problems