Python or C++

Hello,
I am an amateur programmer and I have just started learning Data structures and Algos.

1. Please recommend me learning path for DS and Algorithms in python
  2. I do the code in python, shall I switch to C++ to get better in competitive coding?
  1. You can refer to geeksforgeeks and gain a basic idea about Ds and Algos and I guess you will learn more as you solve problems. If you are a non-cs student, then you may refer to lectures but for cs students, it is in the course curriculum of their subject only.

2. If you consider CP, then c++ is relatively better due to STL libraries and lesser execution time. In python, generally, a program taking 10 sec time takes almost 2 sec in C++ whereas python is more suited to ML. (each programming language has a particular set of advantage over other).

1 Like

I have started with python it was pretty easy for me to go with it, but when i start moving further i’ve seen that there are much more complex algorithms in the world of CP. while using python i have just used short algos in my code like find count, list methods, string methods etc, using them makes us lazy. Few more points to support c++

1. In python you don’t have to declare every variable before using it, what should be type of it, which doesn’t help us to observe when to use large integer and when i declared that/this variable. due to this usage of memory is high in python as compared to c++.
  2. Python is an interpreted language so it’s very slow than compiled ones(c/c++, java).
  3. You will face more errors in c++ as your code go long, in each debugging step you will learn some thing new.
    in the point of learning c++ is a good choice, so you may chose c++ for CP…:slightly_smiling_face:
5 Likes