Questions about INOI

Hello! I’m currently in year 9 and I’m new to INOI, and Olympiads in general.
I understand that to qualify for INOI you have to attempt either ZIO or ZCO. I’ve seen the 2021 paper for ZIO on the IARC website and I was able to solve all the questions. I’m wondering if the cutoff is static - 30 [for my grade and lower] or if it is a function of the average score, and also if the working will be checked, or just the answer. Also, will it be online or offline.

Also, I seem to not be able to find the link to register for ZIO. On the IARCS website, it says registrations start from 18th of October but I have not been able to find a link online. Kindly inform me of the procedure necessary to register.

I only known Python, and I understand that it is not a supported language for INOI. Can someone confirm? I think I will have to learn C++ since Java is discontinued aswell.

As for the INOI, how will I be graded? I understand that my code will be checked by a computer for a series of different inputs. Is there any optimization necessary to the code or can it be very - basic, so to speak. Please do confirm.

Now, about the cutoffs. Will INOI also have separate categories for lower grade students? Any idea what the cutoffs will go for? I believe it should be on a curve as seats for INOI-TC are limited. I also understand it is to be held offline.

1. The cut-off for ZIO varies from year to year (if that is what you’re asking). It is not necessarily a function of the average score. (In layman terms, the marks of approximately the 150th student (in general, this is not a definition))
  2. No the working will not be checked and only the final answer is considered.
  3. At least, last year (when conditions were much worse), it was offline, so probably offline this year as well. It is computer-based (not pen and paper) but you do need to go to an allotted center (as of last year).