Rating system not working for me properly ig

I am new to Codechef, I’ve just took part in 3 contests which are as follows (in order):

1. MAY221 Div 4, successfully solved 6 out of 8 questions (Rank=143)
  2. START39 Div 4, successfully solved 6 out of 7 questions (Rank=2382)
  3. LTIME 108 Div 4 successfully solved 4 out of 6 questions

Although I am aware that Competitive programming was never about ratings and all, but deep down you expect to get rewarded when you do decent.
I wanted to ask, there are many known ones of mine who got to 2* in their first contests and they performed worse than me! (like just solved 3-4 problems and boom straight to 2* while I’m just 1* even after performing better than them for 3 contests straight.)
(Please note that this was when Div 4 was not introduced)

While I am aware that Div 4 contains easy questions but I solved 1-2 of those questions too which come in Div 1 problemset!

Either I am missing something about the rating algorithm or I guess it is broken for people like me?
It’d be much appreciated if someone can enlighten me on this. Thanks in advance!

2 Likes

wanted to ask, there are many known ones of mine who got to 2* in their first contests

you can not get less than -275 or more than +275 per contest.
You start at 1000 and need to reach 1400 for 2*. You improving by 163 points in 3 contests seems about fine.

Either I am missing something about the rating algorithm or I guess it is broken for people like me?

You are missing all the cheater and alt-accounts. I wrote a post about the cheater in the START39 contest: https://discuss.codechef.com/t/too-many-cheater-in-div-4-contest-checked-30-found-20/101181

to sum it up, in the top 300 ( START39 Div 4) are about 250 cheats. You ranking 2382 is already pretty good considering that you probably have around 600-1000 cheater/alt accounts in front of you.

but deep down you expect to get rewarded when you do decent