Should I start learning Competitive programming now itself?

Context here… I am a 16 year old who started learning programming when I was 11. I started with arduino then moved to golang and now currently python. I am not a competitive programmer, I program mostly for fun. I like making games(and I have), however people keep saying to take part in competitive programming. I like the idea of it but it’s just too confusing for me. I like to have fun when I program. Should I start learning competitive programming now or should I wait until college?

1 Like

Start now bro. By the time you are in college, you will be way ahead of your peers. But yes, since you are in Class 11th too. Focus on JEE more than coding. Because, getting a good college should be your first priority. Getting into a good college will make your life much much easier.

4 Likes

It’s really up to you…even I am 16 and my parents constantly force me to drop this and focus on PCM but I enjoy CP very much. I started this month itself on Codechef but I started with CP in June. prioritize and then, if you find it interesting, take up CP now. It will help you in college

1 Like

For Argument:
Do it. One exam may or may not change your future. But consistently improving your Skills will.
So, with creative coding, hacking etc… you are taking your creativity to next level. It will be helpful in college.
Okay, people may say (especially your teachers ) that you should give as much time to JEE as possible…But it is not necessary that you spend all your time on solving books and doing math. You can still continue with coding while preparing for entrance exams, by doing a minimal 1-2 hours a day. Be consistent but don’t put in too much time
Well, continue with coding… It opens you lot of opportunities… Even if you can’t clear JEE, there are lots of other opportunities.

1 Like

Against Argument:
Had I been in this situation, I would have focused solely on JEE and left coding aside.