Spending too much time on each problem?

Hello, I have been doing competitive coding for about 3 months now and am brushing up on DSA topics side by side while practicing. I think I am spending too much time per problem in div3 in the long contests.
for example, i spent about 1.5 hours on this one which is of easy category I think, CodeChef: Practical coding for everyone, i got an error initially and fixed it after spending about 120 mins on it and got AC. Am I spending too much time on this and should just stop after some specific time limit? Any tips on how to increase speed are greatly appreciated.

You’re not doing bad per se, everyone is different when it comes to the speed at which they improve. I found it’s okay to get stuck on a problem for 2-3 hours if you are trying ideas out throughout the whole time period. This way you practice solving problems and training your mental ability, even if it’s a wrong approach it’s far better than reading the editorial and blindly copying what it says and has a much greater impact on one’s self-improvement. This is no science, it’s just what I’ve learned as I practiced.

Once you’re stuck on a problem without any new ideas, say 30 minutes I’d advise moving to other problems and coming back to it the next day (I do this for OI type problems mostly) as sometimes the idea can’t be spotted so easily. It’s been scientifically proven that even when you seemingly take a rest from solving some mathematical/logical problem, your brain is heavily involved in doing it and that’s why there are so many ideas that just ‘click’ when you go to sleep, shower, eat, go to a workout, basically all the unexpected moments and places.