TLE with C++17 but AC with C++14 [UWCOI20D]

In yesterday’s contest, I wrote a solution for this Problem

When i submitted in C++17, It gave me TLE for the last case, and i spent over 20 mins optimizing the code but no luck.

Then I copy paste and submit it in C++14, and magically the verdict changed to AC.

C++17 Code TLE
C++14 Code AC

These two codes are copy-pasted

Is this normal? anyways i won’t use C++17 ever now XD

Sometimes this happens for me in codeforces,surprising to know that it happened in codechef .

This is my first time experiencing it lol, it (almost) screwed up my contest yesterday because i wasn’t able to figure out what’s wrong

Similar to this

Your code runs in 0.89 seconds on C++14 and in 1.02 seconds on C++17. This amount of difference is not surprising, and is in no way evidence that C++17 is slower in general. There are definitely many codes which run slightly faster in C++17 than in C++14.

6 Likes

Thanks I didnt knew cc started supporting c++17.

2 Likes

Please consider making an announcement that codechef started supporting c++17. With an exact command line which you use. Whether or not you are using this patch. I didnt knew C++17 exists until I read this post.
E.g.- Mike added this post Codeforces: Welcome, C++17! - Codeforces

1 Like
  1. It seems I cant submit older problems using C++17. E.g. - I wanted to resubmit SONGIF Problem - CodeChef and few other problems. I’m assuming migration to C++17 is still WIP.

2. Submissions on INTEST problem says cin/cout of C++17 is ~25% slower than C++14.
    On the other hand printf/scanf of C++17 seems ~25% faster than C++14
    One more thing I noticed that cin/cout in general on this problem was faster than printf/scanf. Best combination among all was using cin/cout on C++14.
    Which kills my plan of using C++17 on Codechef.