unable to understand test case

SIR,
I am new to codechef problems, but i have been programmming all the basic algorithms like: finding GCD, array manipulations ,prime no. etc in C++ since more than one year but i never encountered the term:
TEST CASES” for any such problems,
After seeing questions in Easy section in Practice section i feel like i will solve it,
but then i see term “TEST CASE” included in every questions
Can you Please kindly explain me the meaning and use of such test cases in any of(rather all) coding problems…
Abhilash

2 Likes

Test cases are the input for the problem. Could you be more specific as to what’s confusing about it? Look at the Life, Universe and Everything problem.

Hello,

Well, putting it in terms you can understand:

Given two numbers A and B, you find their GCD by doing:

GCD(A,B)

If this was a programming question, you would see something like:

“Given several pairs of numbers you need to output their GCD as a result. The 1st line of input contains a number N, the number of test cases. N test cases follow, each containing two space separated integers. For each test case, you need to output the greatest common divisor of the numbers.”

Example:

Input:

5 0

54 24

Output:

Here, we say that:

5 0 1st test case

54 24 2nd test case

5 Output for first test case

6 Output for second test case

Test cases are the essential “tools” that allow the online judge to verify if your algorithm to solve a given problem is correct.

Best regards,

Bruno

5 Likes

@kuruma described test case very well, I just add some contemplation about “why so many coders ask for test case?”

In contests like CodeChef’s you can get several results when you submit your solution. One very “popular” is wrong answer (WA). This one is the worst you can get - you think your code is correct, but judge says it’s not. Trust me in 99.999% judge is correct - there is problem in your code.