What do I do when I am spending hours to understand a solution

I am a university student and I am actually enjoying competitive programming despite my performance flaws. Time is very limited in my schedule and sometimes looking at solutions take me the LONGEST time to understand. For example, it took me 2 hours to understand the solution to TREEVERS.

Long story short, I am simply asking am I biting more than I can chew.
Because I would love to spend all this time to do competitive programming YET, what about my university classes? How much energy do I put into those classes versus competitive programming. Sometimes there is overlap, but sometimes I don’t see it. For example in my algorithms class we use the famous Cormen textbook and my professor is very math based. All these different sorts of proofs etc. that I don’t see myself using. UNLESS I am wrong! I always think of Errichto or Petr, and Tourist, and I can bet that they would KNOW how to do these complicated math problems, etc. and I try to use that as a motivator for me to understand the book.

Sorry for being confusing, all I am saying is I have limited time. Should I spend 4 hours to understand this Cormen book (and all the exercises) or should I spend 4 hours to do competitive programming.

2 Likes

You should do competitive programming . Reading a book dosn’t work at-all.
Practicing a particular algo from a questions makes you never forget that algo but if you study from a book you might forget it in less than 1 week.
Practice will make you learn all the algorithms. :smiley:

4 Likes