Why is my rating decreased?

Hi fellow coders, I am new to Codechef, just started out with competitive programming. I have taken part in two challenges as of now. First was June long challenge. In this challenge I could solve one question only and in one got TLE. My rating came out the next day and it was 1452.

Yesterday I took part in the June Cookoff. I could solve two problems. First question I solved it one go and the second one took a lot of time and many Wrong answers but finally got submitted with accepted. So, at the end of the challenge my score was 2 and rank as 7027.

But today morning I saw that my rating has decreased from 1452 to 1421. Why is it so? I am new and cannot comprehend why is it decreasing? Like if there is any specific guideline that CodeChef follows then please do share it with me. Thanks for your time.

4 Likes

your rating decreased because there is penalty time involved. Go thru the rules of the contest its mentioned. Try not to make wrong submissions on cook off ,think all the test cases and edge cases before submitting . Altho tle or runtime errors happen sometimes cause of silly mistakes , just try to avoid them.

2 Likes

Your rating goes up or down based on your performance compared to others in the contest. Since you could only solve 2 problems while others did more, you lost rating and they gained.

2 Likes

Okay what does penalty time mean? Can you eli5? Even if i made wrong submissions initially, but I submitted the right solution before the contest end time, so that doesn’t make a difference?