ZCO 2019 preparation

I am a beginner at competitive programming. i have a very very good taste of python . about its data structures and algorithm. i want to prepare for ZCO. but don’t know from where to start. as i don’t have any mentor please can someone help :innocent:
as i am currently in standard 7. it would be a miracle for me to clear this.

shall i shift form python to c++ in these 2 months
i have got a taste of searching, sorting, recursion , little bit dynamic programming but not graphs and not advanced dynamic programming. what should i do

as i have only 2 months left for ZCO 2019 . please someone kindly guide me

1 Like

@kshitij_789

1 Like

what i could not understand

It would be better to shift from Python to C++, because from INOI onwards only C++ and JAVA are the languages supported.

Secondly,
What I have learnt is that I also have a good taste of DP, recursion, graph algorithms and all, but can rarely implement those in my solutions. Yes, I do implement them now, but when I started in class 8, I couldn’t.
So it is better to practice problems, take part in contests etc, coz you might know stuff, but sometimes its difficult to implement them.

Hope this helps.:slight_smile:

2 Likes

thnx for your help. how many days you think will be required to shift to c++ and how to master c++. also what is the most common type of problems in ZCO as i have only 2 months left. what should be my strategy?

See in the contest page, there is one contest named ZCO practice contest, do that. About changing to c++, “google baba” is there. Search, you will find good links.

2 Likes

things similar about us-python and age(one year older) and we both are giving for first time

now what I am doing to convert to c++ is half the times when I am solving problems in practice especially ZCO and INOI i am coding it in c++.
Learning basics of c++(loops functions) is easy but main thing is learning data structures and STL-especially vector,pair,list,array and heaps.