Bug Finder - A GUI application to compare source codes.

Quite often, as a competitive programmer, I feel irritated when an easy problem yields WA because of a teeny-tiny bug like a typo or a missing initialisation. It often costs a lot of precious time and several penalties.

For this problem, I’ve designed a small, simple, easy-to-use GUI application in Java which takes two source codes and tests them against a common input. The respective outputs obtained are then compared line by line for a mismatch. One can compare the ‘buggy’ code with a brute force solution to obtain a test case in which the faulty solution fails.

Link : GitHub - sarthakmanna/Bug-Finder: This simple, easy-to-use GUI application takes two source codes, executes them against a common input and compares their output.
Pre-requisites : Java8 or later must be preinstalled.
Currently supported languages : C++, Java, Python2, Python3

Other details are provided in the ‘README.md’ file of the above git repo.

If you find any bug, please report it at sarthakmannaofficial@gmail.com

9 Likes

Great work bro !!

Really useful app…
Its working nicely…

I have some suggestions for you !!

1) Include TLE

Ask for time limit while taking input and break it if it exceeds time limit. ( if you already have that feature then just ask for time limits. I fear to try it as there is no stop button in your program XD.)
PS: If you can’t do this just give a stop button otherwise it will make hard disk and memory full.(due to infinite loops)

2) Different time limits for both codes would be great.

Usually people have one brute force solution and one optimized one so a feature where I can give different time limits for both test files will be great.

3) Ask for number of times “N” to run on generate test file feature.

Idea is keep generating test cases till either you find a mismatch in answers or it is already executed N times.