Cheating in Online Campus Hiring Programs

Hello all,

I am a final year student in an esteemed institution affiliated to Mumbai University and am writing this post after facing immense frustration over the method followed by companies to recruit candidates in this pandemic.

Most of the companies hold a Pre-Placement Talk talking about how their company is and what it does. They discuss the assessment and boast about how you would be detected if you copy, lol.

In major companies, the first round is an Aptitude Round followed by a Coding Round which then paves your way to numerous interviews. But the point to note in all these rounds is that all of these rounds are elimination rounds. All of this is fair, but the problem starts now.

Most of the students in my college copy during these assessments in the prior rounds and are then unable to clear the further interview rounds. This way the undeserving students get a chance in interview rounds, whereas the students who gave the test honestly, suffered.

This doesn’t affect the person who copies in any way because it’s a win-win for him/her in both cases. If they don’t get selected, they know they didn’t deserve it in the first place and if they do get selected (rare) they think they beat the system.

I even tried to contact my Staff Training and Placement Co-Ordinator but then he pays no heed to this. Understandable, because he has to buff his college placement numbers. And if this lockdown provides a way for these noob kids to get a placement, he considers this a blessing. And then the college cries about not getting good companies for in-campus hiring, lol.

It saddens me that even after working so hard and practicing for such tests, I don’t make it to the list just because someone copied and scored better than me.