What are karma points?

I am new to this karma system, Can you explain me why is it called so? What has karma points got to do with contribution?

7 Likes

Karma points/Reputation indicate how good you are in the community and how much the community trusts you. They are earned by convincing your peers that you know what youā€™re talking about. Karma points also unlock certain privileges for you. We have also created a page that lists the top karma earners every month. Karma points are directly proportional to the amount of contribution you make, so keep contributing.

Note: Karma in Indian religions is the concept of ā€œactionā€ or ā€œdeedā€ (from Wikipedia).

11 Likes

As I have karma = 1, I cannot comment on the problems of June challenge (I can, but it says ā€œyou comment screened out till adminā€™s approvalā€, and I got no answers yet), neither I can create new threads in discussions :frowning:

So, probably, someone will see my comment here and will comment on my behalf that I have strong suspicions that the problem CHPLGNS of Juneā€™s Challenge has incorrect test data set #9. If you solve the problem honestly testing for each pair of the polygons, which one is contained inside another one, it will detect that in the data set #9 there is a pair of polygons not lying one inside another (my implementation of this approach correctly passes all other test cases, showing, by the way, that in the test cases #### 4, 10 some of the polygons touch each other, though taskā€™s authors replied many times in the comments that it never happens). So, there is another, simpler approach to solve the problem, valid if it is guaranteed, as in the task condition, that for each pair of the polygons one of them contains another. And this approach passes the set #9, though, in no way it really checks that the test-set satisfies task conditions.

2 Likes